Equal Partners in Discovery

We are now accepting applications for the 2018-19 Beckman Scholars Program! Apply here. Applications are due February 23, 2018.

The "Equal Partners in Discovery" Program at UVa has been funded continuously by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, 2010-2019

A remarkable opportunity

The Equal Partners in Discovery program at UVA will provide annually one or more $21,000 scholarships to highly-talented, research-oriented students who will work in select mentors' laboratories for two summers and the intervening academic year.

A unique goal

We aim to promote a professional level of scientific achievement during the undergraduate years by pairing students with proven mentors, providing financial support, sponsoring travel to national scientific meetings.

The Beckman Foundation

The goal of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation is to advance the education, research training and personal development of excellent students in chemistry, biochemistry, and the biological and medical sciences.

Our 2017-18 Scholars

Nayla Labban

Nayla is mentored by Dr. Sarah Kucenas of Biology. Nayla is studying glial cells – support cells for the neurons that comprise the central and peripheral nervous systems. Specifically, she is studying how the glial cells that support the central nervous system are kept isolated and different from the glial cells that support the peripheral nerves. Once the mechanism is revealed, it could very well elucidate the causes of, and potential cures for, demyelinating diseases.

J.C. Panagides

J.C. is mentored by Dr. Jason Papin of Biomedical Engineering. J.C. is studying antibiotic resistance in bacteria – a growing problem worldwide. JC is working to bring a theory to application – the theory that silver can be used to render bacteria more sensitive to traditional antibiotics to which they have otherwise become resistant. The ultimate goal is nothing less than to combat antibiotic-resistant infections in the real world, and limit the development of further resistance.

Our 2016-17 Scholars

Lucy Jin

Lucy Jin is mentored by Dr. Christopher Deppmann of Biology. Lucy is working to better understand the complex interplay of signals in the development of the nervous system that cause nerve cells either to grow or to recede, and how these signals play out in our sense of proprioception – that is, body position. Her work will shed light on movement disorders that come to afflict up to a quarter of the world’s population.

Ana Untaroiu

Biomedical Engineering student Ana Untaroiu is mentored by Dr. Jason Papin. Ana uses RNA sequencing and computational biology to understand how Plasmodium falciparum, the parasite that causes malaria, evolves to become resistant to drugs. This improved understanding will help design new drugs and new multi-drug regimens for the treatment of this disease which causes nearly half a million deaths each year.


Kitter Bishop

Kitter Bishop

Kitter Bishop is the Program Coordinator for our Beckman Scholars. Write to Kitter with questions about submitting your application, or about events like the Annual Banquet.

Email Ms. Bishop

William Guilford

Will Guilford

Will Guilford is the Program Director for Beckman Scholars at UVA. Write to him with questions about the program, support for current Scholars, or general inquiries from the press.

Email Dr. Guilford