Biotechnology PhD Training Program



Corporate Advisors

George R. Martin, PhD
Member of the Scientific Advisory Board, Greystone Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; Chief of the Scientific Advisory Board,
Fibrogen, Inc (San Francisco, CA), former Chief Technical Officer and Senior Vice-President at Fibrogen, former Scientific Director of the National Institute of Ageing, former Chief of the Laboratory of Developmental Biology and Anomalies, National Institute of Dental Research (Bethesda, MD).

Robert McKown, PhD
Professor, ISAT, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA. Directs the Biomanufacturing Lab at JMU and has a background in industry as a scientist at Advanced Genetic Sciences (Oakland, CA) and DNA Plant Technology Corp. He is a member of the Board of Directors for the Virginia Biotechnology Association, 2003 winner of the VaBio Educator of the Year award and faculty advisor for the JMU student chapter of the International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering. 

David Patteson
President and CEO, Advion BioSciences. Member, Board of Directors for the University of Virginia Foundation, the University of Virginia Coulter Foundation Board for Translational Research, and the University of Richmond Council. Former President and COO of Biotage LLC, President of Discovery Group Chemistry.

Michael Stern, PhD
Vice President - Inflammation Research Program, Allergan Inc. Co-founder of the Tear Film & Ocular Surface Society.