MWF 9-9:55 AM.
Room 158, Campbell Hall
Office Hours 10-11:30 AM.
421 Campbell Hall, or by appointment, wm2c@virginia.edu
Professor William R. Morrish

THE GLOCAL CITY

SARC 600- The Common Course




Part 1: 4 Disciplines respond to Global/Local Urban Situations



Week 001
Wednesday; August 27 Friday; August 29
Global-Local DiagramWilliam R. Morrish: Contours of the Glocal City Global Network DiagramWilliam R. Morrish: Working Inside the Glocal City
Week 002
Monday; September 1 Wednesday; September 3 Friday; September 5
LABOR DAY, NO CLASS Falmouth Historic RenderingWolfgang Wagner: Connected Urban Design Watts Branch- Ian McHarg MappingLouis Nelson: Culture, Climate and Crisis: Architecture in Place
Week 003
Monday; September 8 Wednesday; September 10 Friday; September 12
Discussion Section Bernard Tschumi Proposal-Downsview ParkWilliam R. Morrishl: A Pair of Ideal “Glocal” Landscapes Bernard Tschumi Proposal-Downsview ParkKristina Hill:The Rising Tides of Urban Ecological Design
Week 004
Monday; September 15 Wednesday; September 17 Friday; September 19
Discussion Section Supergalaxy Project PerspectiveTim Beatley: Native to Nowhere Glory BoxTim Beatley: Urban Dining
Week 005
Monday; September 15 Wednesday; September 17  
Discussion Section Supergalaxy Project PerspectiveAnselmo Canfora: Shelter after the Storm: Initiative re-COVER  

LECTURES


Part 1

4 Disciplines respond to Global/Local Urban Situations

Part 2

Glocal City Design Terms

Part 3

American "Glocal" City Cards