FACULTY

Charlottesville, Va

 
Chemistry
Email
Research Area

W. Lester Andrews

lsa@virginia.edu

Spectroscopy of Matrix Isolated Species using Laser Ablation

James N. Demas

jnd@virginia.edu

Fluorescence Probes and Sensors: Transition Metal Complexes

Sergei Egorov

sae6z@virginia.edu

Theoretical Chemistry: Supercritical Fluids, Condensed Matter

Cassandra Fraser

cf4n@virginia.edu

Metal-containing Polymer Synthesis

Ian Harrison

ah8t@virginia.edu

Surface Reaction Dynamics / Photochemistry / STM

James Landers

jpl5e@virginia.edu

Lab-on-a-Chip Bioassay Development

Brooks H. Pate

bp2k@virginia.edu

Intramolecular Dynamics: Infrared/µwave Spectroscopy

Lin Pu

lp6n@virginia.edu

Chiral Polymer Synthesis

Frederick S. Richardson

fsr@virginia.edu

Chiral Recognition: Optical Spectroscopy, Lanthanides

Carl Trindle

cot@virginia.edu

Ab initio Electronic Structure


Physics
Email
Research Area

Louis A. Bloomfield

lab3e@virginia.edu

Magnetic and Electronic Properties of Clusters

Thomas F. Gallagher

tfg@virginia.edu

Rydberg Atom Dynamics

Robert R. Jones

rrj3c@virginia.edu

Ultrafast Phenomena in Atomic Systems

Eugene Kolomeisky 

ek6n@virginia.edu

Solid State Theory and Surface Statistical Mechanics

Blaine E. Norum

 ben@virginia.edu

Accelerator Physics and Short Wavelength FEL Development

Olivier Pfister

op6n@virginia.edu

Quantum Optics and Quantum Information

S. Joseph Poon

sjp9x@virginia.edu

Synthesis & Characterization of Novel Materials

Charles Sackett

cas8m@virginia.edu

Bose-Einstein Condensation & Quantum Entanglement


Chemical Engineering
Email
Research Area

Robert J. Davis

rjd4f@virginia.edu

Heterogeneous Catalyst Development and Characterization

Andrew C. Hillier

ach3p@virginia.edu

Interfacial Chemistry: STM, AFM & SECM

Matt Neurock

mn4n@virginia.edu

Surface & Materials Theory: DFT Methods, Simulations


Materials Science /
Engineering Physics
Email
Research Area

Raul A. Baragiola

rb9a@virginia.edu

Director, Laboratory for Atomic and Surface Physics

Jim Fitz-Gerald

jmf8h@virginia.edu

Laser Synthesis & Processing of Nanoscale Materials

Robert E. Johnson

rej@virginia.edu

Theory of Particle & Photon Surface Interactions, IR-MALDI

Haydn N.G.Wadley

hnw4z@virginia.edu

Director, Center for the Intelligent Processing of Materials

Leonid Zhigilei

lz2n@virginia.edu

Theory of Laser Induced Phenomena; Computer Simulations


Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Email
Research Area

Gabriel Laufer

glaufer@virginia.edu

Laser and Optical Engineering

Pamela Norris

pmn3d@virginia.edu

Femtosecond Laser Studies of Material Properties, Aerogels

 

Norfolk, Va

Center for Materials Research
Email
Research Area

Carl E. Bonner, Jr.

cebonner@nsu.edu

Ultrafast Laser Spectroscopy, New Laser Materials Development

Edward Gillman

gillman@jlab.org

Surface Science, Laser Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition

George B. Loutts

gloutts@nsu.edu

Optical Crystal Growth and Development

Larry Mattix

lmattix@nsu.edu

Director, Center for Materials Research

Mikhail A. Noginov

mnoginov@nsu.edu

Laser Spectroscopy

Rakhim Rakhimov

rakhim@vigyan.nsu.edu

Electron Spin Resonance Spectroscopy

Newport News, Va

Free Electron Laser Facility
Email
Research Area

Fred Dylla

dylla@jlab.org

Program Manager, Jefferson Lab Free Electron Laser

Michael J. Kelley

mkelley@jlab.org

Chairman, Laser Processing Consortium