PHYSICS 1429 LABORATORY

Summer 2012

 

 

Course Coordinator: Professor Stephen Thornton

Instructor: Max Bychkov

Physics 1429 is the laboratory that serves students in Physics 1425. It is not required that you be registered in an accompanying lecture course, but that is the normal and preferred procedure. Physics 1429 is a 2 hour session where students will answer pedagogical questions and perform experiments designed to help you learn physics. Much of the laboratory is conceptual and is designed to help you understand physics.

Click on the following for further information:

Introduction and General Information. It is very important for you to read this. WebAssign grading policy is here.

Lab Section Information. Look up schedule and TA names and email addresses.

Lab Videos. The short videos are to help you understand how the experimental equipment works for each lab.

Office Hours. There is help scheduled for you to help solve your pre-lab homework and prepare for the lab. Just drop in and ask for help. You do not need to attend the office hours held by your TA. Visit anyone! Do not send emails to your TA or professor asking for help with the prelab homework.

Link to WebAssign for UVa students and faculty. Look here for your prelab homework and postlab quiz. Your username and password are the same as your UVa email account.

Student Guide to WebAssign. Look here if you need help in using WebAssign. NOTE: Sections 1, 2, and 3.3 do not apply to UVa students accessing WebAssign via WebAssign for UVa link.  UVa folks use their CMS username and password to log in.

Workshop Manual PDF versions of the laboratory manual. For reference ONLY; You are REQUIRED to purchase a manual. The manual should be available from the UVa bookstore a week or so before the first lab.

Laboratory Schedule
Date
Day of Week
Lab Number
Lab
June 11 Monday
1
Physical Measurement
June 12 Tuesday
2
One Dimensional Motion
June 14 Thursday
3
Velocity and Acceleration
June 18 Monday
4
Force and Motion
June 19 Tuesday
5
Projectile Motion
June 21 Thursday
6
Gravitational and Passive Forces
June 25 Monday
7
Collisions & Momentun - Newton's 3rd Law
June 26 Tuesday
8
Work and Energy
June 28 Thursday
9
Rotational Dynamics
July 2 Monday
10
Harmonic Motion and the Pendulum
July 3 Tuesday
11
Free, Damped, and Forced Oscillations
July 5 Thursday
12
Ideal Gas Law & the Absolute Zero of Temperature
July 6 Friday
Make up
Make-up - TA permission required