PHYSICS 203 LABORATORY

Summer 2008

 

Course Coordinator: Professor Stephen Thornton

Physics 203 is the laboratory that serves students in Physics 201. It replaces the former course 201L. It is not required that you be registered in an accompanying lecture course, but that is the normal and preferred procedure. Physics 203 is a 2 hour session where students will answer pedagogical questions and perform experiments designed to help you learn physics. Much of the laboratory is conceptual and is designed to help you understand physics.

Click on the following for further information:

Introduction and General Information. It is very important for you to read this.

Lab Videos. The short videos are to help you understand how the experimental equipment works for each lab.

Lab Section Information. Look up schedule and TA names and email addresses.

Office Hours. There is help scheduled for you to help solve your pre-lab homework and prepare for the lab. Just drop in and ask for help.

Link to WebAssign for UVa students and faculty. Look here for your pre-lab homework and post-lab quiz. Your username and password are the same as your UVa email account.

Student Guide to WebAssign. Look here if you need help in using WebAssign. NOTE: Sections 1, 2, and 3.3 do not apply to UVa students accessing WebAssign via WebAssign for UVa link.  UVa folks use their CMS username and password to log in.

Workshop Manual PDF versions of the laboratory manual. For reference ONLY; You are REQUIRED to purchase a manual. The manual should be available from the UVa bookstore a week or so before the first lab.

Laboratory Schedule
Date
Day of Week
Lab Number
Lab
June 10 Tuesday
1
Physical Measurement
June 12 Thursday
2
One Dimensional Motion
June 16 Monday
3
Velocity and Acceleration
June 17 Tuesday
4
Projectile Motion
June 19 Thursday
5
Force
June 20 Friday
6
Work and Energy
June 23 Monday
7
Collisions & Momentun - Newton's 3rd Law
June 24 Tuesday
8
Rotational Dynamics
June 26 Thursday
9
Harmonic Motion and the Pendulum
June 30 Monday
10
Fluids
July 1 Tuesday
11
Ideal Gas Law & the Absolute Zero of Temperature
July 3 Thursday
12
Heat Engines & 1st Law of Thermodynamics
July 7, 8 Monday or Tuesday
Make-up - TA permission required