PHYSICS 2040 LABORATORY

Summer 2011

 

Course Coordinator: Professor Stephen Thornton

Physics 2040 is the laboratory that serves students in Physics 2020. It is not required that you be registered in an accompanying lecture course, but that is the normal and preferred procedure. The lab is a 2 hour session where students will answer pedagogical questions and perform experiments designed to help you learn physics. Much of the laboratory is conceptual and is designed to help you understand physics.

Click on the following for further information:

Introduction and General Information. It is very important for you to read this.

Lab Videos. The short videos are to help you understand how the experimental equipment works for each lab.

Lab Section Information. Look up schedule and TA names and email addresses.

Office Hours. There is help scheduled for you to help solve your pre-lab homework and prepare for the lab. Just drop in and ask for help.

Link to WebAssign for UVa students and faculty. Look here for your pre-lab homework and post-lab quiz. Your username and password are the same as your UVa email account.

Student Guide to WebAssign. Look here if you need help in using WebAssign. NOTE: Sections 1, 2, and 3.3 do not apply to UVa students accessing WebAssign via WebAssign for UVa link.  UVa folks use their CMS username and password to log in.

Workshop Manual PDF versions of the laboratory manual. For reference ONLY; You are REQUIRED to purchase a manual. The manual should be available from the UVa bookstore a week or so before the first lab.

Laboratory Schedule
Date
Day of Week
Lab Number
Lab
July 11 Monday
1
Electrostatics
July 12 Tuesday
2
Batteries, Bulbs & Current
July 14 Thursday
3
DC Circuits & Ohm's Law
July 18 Monday
4
Capacitors & RC Circuits
July 19 Tuesday
5
Electron Charge-to-Mass Ratio
July 21 Thursday
6
Inductors and LR Circuits
July 22 Friday
7
AC Currents & Voltages
July 25 Monday
8
Polarization
July 26 Tuesday
9
Geometrical Optics
July 28 Thursday
10
Microwave & Light Interference
August 1 Monday
11
Atomic Spectra
August 2 Tuesday
12
Radioactivity, Beta and Gamma Rays
August 3 Wednesday
Make-up - TA permission required