Physics 2415 Syllabus Fall 2009

Meeting#

Date

Chap

Sections

 

1

Aug 26 Wed

21

1-5

Electric Charge and Field

2

Aug 28 Fri

21

5-8

Electric Charge and Field

3

Aug 31 Mon

21

8-13

Electric Charge and Field

4

Sept 2 Wed

22

1-3

Gauss’ Law

5

Sept 4 Fri

22

3-4

Gauss’ Law

6

Sept 7 Mon

23

1-3

Electric Potential

7

Sept 9 Wed

23

4-9

Electric Potential

8

Sept 11 Fri

24

1-3

Capacitance and Dielectrics

9

Sept 14 Mon

24

4-6

Capacitance and Dielectrics

10

Sept 16 Wed

25

1-4

Electric Currents and Resistance

11

Sept 18 Fri

25

5-10

Electric Currents and Resistance

12

Sept 21 Mon

26

1-3

DC Circuits

13

Sept 23 Wed

Exam I

 

Ch 21 - 25

14

Sept 25 Fri

26

4-7

DC Circuits

15

Sept 28 Mon

27

1-3

Magnetism, Forces

16

Sept 30 Wed

27

4-6

Magnetism, Forces

17

Oct 2 Fri

27

7-9

Magnetism, Forces

18

Oct 7 Wed

28

1-4

Sources of Magnetic Field

19

Oct 9  Fri

28

5-10

Sources of Magnetic Field

20

Oct 12 Mon

29

1-3

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

21

Oct 14 Wed

29

3-6

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

22

Oct 16 Fri

29

7-8

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

23

Oct 19 Mon

30

1-3

AC Circuits

24

Oct 21 Wed

Exam II

 

Ch 26 - 29

25

Oct 23 Fri

30

4-6

AC Circuits

26

Oct 26 Mon

30

7-11

AC Circuits

27

Oct 28 Wed

15

1-4

Waves

28

Oct 30 Fri

15

5-11

Waves

29

Nov 2 Mon

16

1-4

Sound

30

Nov 4 Wed

16

5-9

Sound

31

Nov 6 Fri

31

1-6

Maxwell’s Equations & EM Waves

32

Nov 9 Mon

31,35

31: 7-10;         35: 11-13

EM Waves &

Polarization (Ch 35)

33

Nov 11 Wed

32

1-3

Light:  Reflection & Refraction

34

Nov 13 Fri

32

4-8

Light:  Reflection & Refraction

35

Nov 16 Mon

33

1-4

Lenses & Optical Instruments

36

Nov 18 Wed

Exam III

 

Chs 15,16, 30-32, 35(secs.11-13)

37

Nov 20 Fri

33

5-10

Lenses & Optical Instruments

38

Nov 23 Mon

Review

 

All hour exams

39

Nov 30 Mon

34

1-3

Interference

40

Dec 2 Wed

34

4-7

Interference

41

Dec 4 Fri

35

1-4

Diffraction

42

Dec  7 Mon

35

5-10 

  Diffraction