Physics 2415 Syllabus Fall 2010

Meeting#

Date

Chap

Sections

 

1

Aug 25 Wed

21

1-5

Electric Charge and Field

2

Aug 27 Fri

21

5-8

Electric Charge and Field

3

Aug 30 Mon

21

8-13

Electric Charge and Field

4

Sept 1 Wed

22

1-3

Gauss’ Law

5

Sept 3 Fri

22

3-4

Gauss’ Law

6

Sept 6 Mon

23

1-3

Electric Potential

7

Sept 8 Wed

23

4-9

Electric Potential

8

Sept 10 Fri

24

1-3

Capacitance and Dielectrics

9

Sept 13 Mon

24

4-6

Capacitance and Dielectrics

10

Sept 15 Wed

25

1-4

Electric Currents and Resistance

11

Sept 17 Fri

25

5-10

Electric Currents and Resistance

12

Sept 20 Mon

26

1-3

DC Circuits

13

Sept 22 Wed

Exam I

 

Ch 21 - 25

14

Sept 24 Fri

26

4-7

DC Circuits

15

Sept 27 Mon

27

1-3

Magnetism, Forces

16

Sept 29 Wed

27

4-6

Magnetism, Forces

17

Oct 1 Fri

27

7-9

Magnetism, Forces

18

Oct 4 Mon

28

1-4

Sources of Magnetic Field

19

Oct 6  Wed

28

5-10

Sources of Magnetic Field

20

Oct 8 Fri

29

1-3

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

 

Oct 11 Mon

 

 

No class, Reading Day

21

Oct 13 Wed

29

3-6

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

22

Oct 15 Fri

29

7-8

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

23

Oct 18 Mon

30

1-3

AC Circuits

24

Oct 20 Wed

Exam II

 

Ch 26 - 29

25

Oct 22 Fri

30

4-6

AC Circuits

26

Oct 25 Mon

30

7-11

AC Circuits

27

Oct 27 Wed

15

1-4

Waves

28

Oct 29 Fri

15

5-11

Waves

29

Nov 1 Mon

16

1-4

Sound

30

Nov 3 Wed

16

5-9

Sound

31

Nov 5 Fri

31

1-6

Maxwell’s Equations & EM Waves

32

Nov 8 Mon

31,35

31: 7-10;         35: 11-13

EM Waves &

Polarization (Ch 35)

33

Nov 10 Wed

32

1-3

Light:  Reflection & Refraction

34

Nov 12 Fri

32

4-8

Light:  Reflection & Refraction

35

Nov 15 Mon

33

1-4

Lenses & Optical Instruments

36

Nov 17 Wed

Exam III

 

Chs. 15, 16, 30, 31,32, secs 11-13 of Ch. 35

37

Nov 19 Fri

33

5-10

Lenses & Optical Instruments

38

Nov 22 Mon

Review

 

Review all hour exams

39

Nov 29 Mon

34

1-3

Interference

40

Dec 1 Wed

34

4-7

Interference

41

Dec 3 Fri

35

1-4

Diffraction

42

Dec  6 Mon

35

5-10

Diffraction