Physics 2415 Syllabus Fall 2011

Meeting#

Date

Chap

Sections

 

1

Aug 24 Wed

21

1-5

Electric Charge and Field

2

Aug 26 Fri

21

5-8

Electric Charge and Field

3

Aug 29 Mon

21

8-13

Electric Charge and Field

4

Aug 31 Wed

22

1-3

Gauss’ Law

5

Sept 2 Fri

22

3-4

Gauss’ Law

6

Sept 5 Mon

23

1-3

Electric Potential

7

Sept78 Wed

23

4-9

Electric Potential

8

Sept 9 Fri

24

1-3

Capacitance and Dielectrics

9

Sept 12 Mon

24

4-6

Capacitance and Dielectrics

10

Sept 14 Wed

25

1-4

Electric Currents and Resistance

11

Sept 16 Fri

25

5-10

Electric Currents and Resistance

12

Sept 19 Mon

26

1-3

DC Circuits

13

Sept 21 Wed

Exam I

 

Ch 21 - 25

14

Sept 23 Fri

26

4-7

DC Circuits

15

Sept 26 Mon

27

1-4

Magnetism, Forces

16

Sept 28 Wed

27

4-6

Magnetism, Forces

17

Sept 30 Fri

27

7-9

Magnetism, Forces

18

Oct 3 Mon

28

1-5

Sources of Magnetic Field

19

Oct 5  Wed

28

5-10

Sources of Magnetic Field

20

Oct 7 Fri

29

1-3

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

 

Oct 10 Mon

 

 

No class, Reading Day

21

Oct 12 Wed

29

3-6

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

22

Oct 14 Fri

29

7-8

Induction and Faraday’s Laws

23

Oct 17 Mon

30

1-3

AC Circuits

24

Oct 19 Wed

Exam II

 

Ch 26 - 29

25

Oct 21 Fri

30

4-6

AC Circuits

26

Oct 24 Mon

30

7-11

AC Circuits

27

Oct 67 Wed

15

1-4

Waves

28

Oct 28 Fri

15

5-11

Waves

29

Oct 31 Mon

16

1-4

Sound

30

Nov 2 Wed

16

5-9

Sound

31

Nov 4 Fri

31

1-6

Maxwell’s Equations & EM Waves

32

Nov 7 Mon

31,35

31: 7-10;         35: 11-13

EM Waves &

Polarization (Ch 35)

33

Nov 9 Wed

32

1-3

Light:  Reflection & Refraction

34

Nov 11 Fri

32

4-8

Light:  Reflection & Refraction

35

Nov 14 Mon

33

1-4

Lenses & Optical Instruments

36

Nov 16 Wed

Exam III

 

Chs. 15, 16, 30, 31,32, secs 11-13 of Ch. 35

37

Nov 18 Fri

33

5-10

Lenses & Optical Instruments

38

Nov 21 Mon

Review

 

Review all hour exams

39

Nov 28 Mon

34

1-3

Interference

40

Nov 30 Wed

34

4-7

Interference

41

Dec 2 Fri

35

1-4

Diffraction

42

Dec  5 Mon

35

5-10

Diffraction